LS Elections 2019: EVMs to carry candidates’ photographs

LS Elections 2019: EVMs to carry candidates’ photographs

According to PTI, while announcing the dates of Lok Sabha election which will be held in seven phases, the Election Commission said EVMs carrying photographs of the candidates will help avoid any confusion which may arise when candidates with similar names contest from the same constituency. Consequent on the announcement of the schedule for the General Election, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) for the Guidance of Political Parties and Candidates comes into operation with immediate effect from today itself in the entire country.

Contrary to expectations, no elections will be held in Jammu and Kashmir, which has been without an elected government since June past year when the BJP pulled out of its alliance with the PDP.

Chief election commissioner Sunil Arora attributed the delayed assembly poll in J&K to the security situation in the state in view of which the J&K government and home ministry had expressed their inability to hold simultaneous polls.

Further, the Election Commission said the "voter-verifiable paper audit trail" (VVPAT) will be used in all polling stations this time. This was announced by the Election Commission on Sunday. "India is very proud of the EC for assiduously organising elections for several years". More than 66 percent of the total population voted in the last general elections, that were held in 2014.

More news: Nintendo Switch gets virtual reality support in new Labo kit

While the first phase polling was on April 7, the last phase was on May 12.Earlier, the opposition parties have questioned the delay in announcing the dates of poll, as Ahmed Patel, senior Congress leader raised questions if it was waiting for the "official" travel programme of Prime Minister to finish. It is generally believed that the Election will be held during the months of April and May.

In the first phase (April 11), Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimu, Chandrapur and Yavatmal-Washim voters will votes.

In 2014, Lok Sabha polls were held in nine phases beginning April 7 and ending May 9. Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, and Puducherry. Jammu and Kashmir will have five-phase voting.

The EC also said India had gone to polls with photo electoral rolls for the first time in 2009.