Culture&Arts

Player Ratings: Liverpool vs West Ham - August 12th 2018

Player Ratings: Liverpool vs West Ham - August 12th 2018

Liverpool defeated West Ham by 4-0 at Anfield in their season opener this afternoon, with Sadio Mane grabbing a brace as well as Mo Salah and Daniel Sturridge also getting on the scoresheet.

"The champions are Manchester City". However, the Dutchman became started to make some sloppy errors in the second half - blazing a wild shot over the bar and making clumsy challenge or two when put under pressure.

The match gets underway at 1.30pm (BST)-or 8.30am in NY, 5.30am in Los Angeles, 10.30pm in Sydney, 4.30pm in Dubai and 3.30pm in Nairobi.

West Ham, though, are back in action next Saturday when Bournemouth visit London Stadium.

Could Liverpool begin their campaign on a high against West Ham?

Lovren sat out the West Ham game and missed a large majority of Liverpool's preseason after being granted an extended break for helping Croatia reach the World Cup final. He was outstanding on and off the pitch - very positive for the team, for the club.

I believe the signings we have made are of huge potential, and that we have massively strengthened our attacking options, which quite clearly indicates the way in which Manuel Pellegrini wants his West Ham side to play.

The Draw - the Merseysiders had seven of those in their 19 matches - is [6.8] while West Ham are [14.5] to spring a surprise.

A very good start, for sure.

More news: Facts of Life star Charlotte Rae dies at 92

"It's only the middle of August and then in September the games will come". A 4-3 win at Arsenal and 3-3 draw at Watford! They had conceded four goals in each of their previous three games against the Merseysiders.

But this season, having spent around £170m on some deluxe fine-tuning to a squad who fell short in the Premier League but came agonisingly close in Europe, Klopp can perhaps no longer rely on this team being a work-in-progress upstart.

Klopp's chosen squad for the game consists of Allison, Alexander Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, Joe Gomez, Andrew Robertson, Georginio Wijnaldum, Keita, James Milner, Salah, Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino. They were opened up too often and too easily, giving up a passable impression of a team who had never seen Liverpool play before, let alone thought about how to stop them.

What's more, he's scored on the opening day in each of the last two seasons so loves to hit the ground running.

Fabinho was a brilliant spot-kick taker for Monaco but fluffed his lines from 12 yards against Torino on Tuesday night, so Mane could be top of the pecking order again on Sunday.

Liverpool's front three last year was arguably one of the best in the world last year.

But there could be a decent play for West Ham.

The Guinea global, who was signed from RB Leipzig a year ago in a deal which delayed his arrival until this summer, slotted in seamlessly and played a key role not only in the opening goal but in most of Liverpool's attacking invention.