Jai Ram Thakur takes oath as new chief minister of Himachal

Jai Ram Thakur takes oath as new chief minister of Himachal

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the top leaders of the BJP had attended the programme in Shimla, in which Mr Thakur and 10 of his ministers had taken oath.

The swearing in ceremony was also attended by Union Home Minister Raj Nath Singh, Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers from various states and other senior leaders.

Jai Ram Thakur, Himachal Pradesh chief minister-designate, on Monday vowed to end the VIP culture in the state promoted by the Virbhadra Singh government in the state.

Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 52-year-old Thakur, a five-time MLA from Seraj, and other ministers which included six new faces. This will be his maiden term as Chief Minister.

The supporters of Dhumal were still hoping for him to become the Chief Minister, they also questioned the decision to shift Dhumal from his original seat at Hamirpur to Sujanpur, where it was clear that despite his candidature, it was hard to defeat the Congress leader, Rajinder Rana. The father-son duo, after publically humiliated by Congress Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, had a large role in totally washing out the Congress from the district. Ms Sarveen Chaudhry is the lone woman in the cabinet.

While Thakur and seven others took oath in Hindi, Suresh Bharadwaj and Govind Thakur took oath in Sanskrit.

More news: Drug-smuggling Briton Laura Plummer in 'bad prison'

Son of former Telecom Minister Sukh Ram, Anil Sharma defected to the Congress and joined the BJP before the assembly elections in November.

The report revealed that, on an average, asset of the state cabinet ministers is Rs 7.17 crore, with Anil Sharma topping the list with assets worth Rs 40.20 crore.

Rajiv Bindal will be the speaker of the legislative assembly.

Supporters of the newly sworn-in Ministers also thronged the venue.

An analysis of criminal records and assets of the state MLAs as per the affidavits filed them was conducted by the Himachal Pradesh Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). The BJP won three seats out of eight here.

Patnaik took to his Twitter account and posted a congratulatory message for Thakur and his Council of Ministers.