Bumrah, Parthiv called up for South Africa Test series

Bumrah, Parthiv called up for South Africa Test series

Virat Kohli has been rested for the series and Rohit Sharma will lead the squad in his absence.

"It is unfortunate that Kuldeep Yadav had to miss out as we will be playing only three Test matches in South Africa".

A 17-member squad has been named for the three Tests to be played at Cape Town, Centurion and Johannesburg between January 5 to January 28.

Virat Kohli (captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay, who were stupendous in the Test series against Sri Lanka, were retained in the Test squad along with KL Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane.

"With regard to Bumrah if you see his performance for the past 10-12 months, he has been phenomenal".

"There was no doubt in picking Bumrah because he definitely adds variety to pace attack".

More news: Meet Micromax Bharat 5, the Rs 5555 Competitor to Xiaomi Redmi 5A

While announcing the squad, BCCI chairman of selectors M.S.K. Prasad said this is the best balanced side for the tour.

Considering him over world's number 1 and 2 spinners (Ashwin and Jadeja) would have been a big ask.

The team will leave for South Africa on December 27. Wriddhiman Saha will travel as the first-choice wicketkeeper with Parthiv as back-up.

Meanwhile, wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel has also earned a recall, having last played against England in December past year.

Yuzvender Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi and Jaydev Unadkat are included for the three-match T20I series.

Rohit Sharma will take charge for the shortest format of the game as Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar are included in the batting line-up along with former skipper MS Dhoni.