UP civic poll results: BJP sweep confined to big cities

UP civic poll results: BJP sweep confined to big cities

On the other hand, the SP and the Congress put up a disappointing show and could not secure a single mayoral seat, with the latter left red-faced after losing in its stronghold of Amethi.

As per the latest counting updates, the BJP is leading in 14 of the 16 mayoral seats in the state. "General Elections are due in 2019".

"If the BJP is honest and believes in democracy then they should discard the EVMs and conduct voting on ballot papers".

This is in stark contrast to the drubbing they got at the hands of the BJP in the state assembly polls just eight months back.

Uttam said had Akhilesh Yadav campaigned extensively, the results would have been much different and the BJP would have been wiped out in the urban body polls. "But in this election, many seats have gone to independent candidates", he said.

Rajendra Chaudhary also slammed the BJP for "misusing official machinery" and alleged the party misinformed the masses about its victory in the elections.

More news: United Nations war crimes defendant claims to have taken poison in court

Mr. Yadav did not elaborate or provide data for his claim.

They accused the BJP of tampering with the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in the civic polls.

The Congress which once again failed to make a mark also compared the performance of the ruling party where elections were held through EVMs with those where ballot papers were used.

Addressing a gathering in Kolkata, Akhilesh Yadav said, "BJP's winning percentage is 46% wherever polls were conducted via EVMs and 15% when it was done via ballot papers". This is clear from results of seats where ballot papers were used.

BJP candidates have won maximum seats of Mayor and Chairman in Municipal Corporations and Nagar Palika Parishads. This is barely 28 per cent, which is less than the passing percentage of 33. Mayawati-led BSP came second by winning the mayoral posts in western UP's Aligarh and Meerut towns. The same were used in 2007 Assembly elections where the BSP emerged victorious and formed the government on its own.

Overall, in Gorakhpur, BJP won 27 wards, SP 18, BSP 2 and Congress 2. The victory has also been rendered bitter by serious allegations of bungling in voter lists and manipulation of EVM's. "The three parties are indulging in this propaganda to hide their disappointment following the electoral losses", he added.