Iyer, Siraj included in India T20 squad

Iyer, Siraj included in India T20 squad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has on Monday, announced the squad for upcoming New Zealand T20 series.

Ashish Nehra has been picked for the first match which will be played in Delhi's Ferozshah Kotla on November 1.

It should be noted that the Men in Blue have never beaten New Zealand in a T20I in five head-to-head games. Whether he is going to play or not, it is clearly the team management and the selector on call, whoever it is.

Prasad continued: "We can't say that [if he will surely play in the Delhi T20I]".

In his last 10 innings, Iyer has scored two centuries and three fifties and that was enough for the selectors to include him in the squad.

More news: Millions worldwide taking part in 2017 Great ShakeOut Earthquake Drills

The three-match T20 series will get underway on November 1. Experienced wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has also been sustained for the T20 series and will expect regular chances in future.

Iyer made his Mumbai debut in 2014-15, and despite a jittery start in the middle order, he was promoted to the top where he went on to finish as the side's highest run-getter with 809 runs to his name at an average of 50.56. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well", Prasad said. India will play 3 T20I against New Zealand starting from November 1.

"We are monitoring the workload of the players, rotational policy will also apply to the captain, but he is available for the Test series".

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj.

Squad for first two Tests against Sri Lanka: Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.